Top Local Places

American Foundation for Suicide Prevention - Arkansas Chapter

, Little Rock, United States
Nonprofit Organization



AFSP is the leading national not-for-profit organization exclusively dedicated to understanding and preventing suicide through research, education and advocacy, and to reaching out to people with mental disorders and those impacted by suicide. The American Foundation for Suicide Prevention’s Facebook page is a forum to communicate news and information and to create a community among individuals concerned about suicide prevention, coping with suicide loss and living with a mental illness.

We each bring our own experience and we invite you to share yours. While we encourage dialogue, it is important that this page remain free of judgment, criticism, and unsolicited advice, a safe place for all members of our community. Comments or posts on this page that do not follow these guidelines may be removed.


AFSP is proud to announce the appointment of four new board members to its National Board of Directors: Tony Cornelius, Melissa d'Arabian, Jonathon Kellerman, and Ed Stelmakh.

Register today to walk in one of the Arkansas campus walks!

Location: Texarkana, exact location to be announced Registration/check-in begins at 8:00 a.m. Walk 9:00 a.m. The Out of the Darkness Walks are proof that when people work together they can make big changes in the world. They are AFSP’s largest fundraiser – they produce millions for suicide prevention programs, unite those who have been affected by suicide, and create communities that are smart about mental health. Our fundraising goal is $7500 this year and we know we can make it with your help! Help us save lives and bring hope to those affected by suicide by walking with us.

#THANKYOUTHURSDAY Today, we thank 2018 Campus Walk chairs for stepping up to lead campus walks in their communities. Thank you Danna Wolters and Kate Blackwell for co-chairing the UA Little Rock walk, Tonya Oates and Kristy Davis for co-chairing the ATU walk, Annie Deramus for chairing the UCA walk, Zachery Birdsong and Keri Book for co-chairing the UA Monticello walk, Jamie Raleigh for chairing the Bryant High School walk and Leah Evans for chairing the Maumelle High School walk! Register today for a campus walk near you!

#WalkWednesday It's Walk Wednesday! Share your favorite walk photos with us!

Topic Tuesday Listen to NPR's Linda Wertheimer share how she remembers those she has lost. Do you have a daily memorial or personal affirmation?

Why Suicide Prevention Matters to Me

Be sure to check our chapter web page for upcoming events.

Registration is open!

Are you interested in volunteering with the Arkansas Chapter? Join us at our Volunteer Open House at the Main Library on Tuesday, February 13 from 6:00 - 7:45 p.m. You'll have a chance to talk to committee leaders and learn more about our educational programs, fundraising, advocacy and survivor support initiatives. Also, come meet our new Volunteer Coordinator Mackenzie Depperschmidt.

Thank You Arkansas Health Department!

#THANKYOUTHURSDAY About a year ago, the Arkansas Junior Board was formed. Over the past year, junior board members have volunteered at our walks, educational events, attended training, advocated for suicide prevention public policies and are currently working on several events to support the work of the chapter. What an amazing group! We are so thankful and look forward to seeing what they accomplish in 2018. Thank you Nick Lewis, Aaron Carroll, Raquel Cooper, Rachel Ekdahl, Alanna Tatum, Ro Zolten, Ben Scully, Danna Wolters, Kate Blackwell, Nikki Nance, Liz Cohen, Jessica Miller, and Elizabeth Gray.

Recommended Before and After transformation